What is Scouting?

The Scout movement was founded by Lord Robert Baden-Powell in 1907. Now 400,000 boys and girls in the UK are finding challenge and adventure in Scouting. Scout Movements exist in 216 countries in the world and have more than 33 million members.

The Scout Programme is based on encouraging personal development in young people through exciting activities run by adult volunteers. There are six Programme zones. Scoutcraft and Adventure, including camping, obviously occupies a big place, but Fitness, Community, Global and Creativity are also included, as well as Beliefs and Attitudes, which underlie all the other zones. However, for the young people it all boils down to having fun and earning badges!

Scouting is a value-based movement, with three guiding principles: duty to self, duty to others and duty to God. Members make a promise when they join, and wear their uniform with pride.
The 1st Maisons-Laffitte Group is part of British Scouting Overseas, which has about 2500 members in 42 Groups spread throughout the world.

Periodically The Scout Association looks at its Fundamentals to check that the core essence of Scouting is captured and expressed in a way that can be easily understood by and relevant to those undertaking Scouting today. Here are the new Fundamentals of Scouting explained.

British Scouting is divided into five age ranges:

Beavers – 6 to 8 years

Cubs – 8 – 10 ½ years

Scouts – 10 ½ -14 years

Explorers – 14 -18 years

Network - 18 -25 years

1st Maisons-Laffitte Group has Beavers, Cubs and Scouts.